26 September 2011

Our AWGIE winners

With the excitement and over-exhaustion of Melbourne Fringe opening weekend, some of us may have missed the announcement of the AWGIE winners.

The AWGIES are presented by the Australian Writers Guild and recognise the "integral role the story plays in film, television, radio, interactive media and theatre." They're a pretty good one to win.

And how cool to read a list of winners and want to do a happy dance because they are all such incredible writers.

Theatre for Young Audiences
Declan Greene

Dec was far too busy at FUGLY - the best night at the Melb Fringe Club ever - to even think of anything as tacky as an award ceremony. And he's prettier than me.

Major Award
Do Not Go Gentle
Patricia Cornelius

For Courage and Excellence in Performance Writing
Kate McCartney and Kate McLennan

(Kate was also too busy doing her Fringe show, Homeward Bound.)

And, because I love both of these writers so very much.

Comedy - Situation or Narrative
Laid: Episode 4
Marieke Hardy

For Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy
Chris Lilley

all the AWGIE winners

No comments:

Post a Comment